Article Text

other Versions

PDF
Neonatal mortality and morbidity in extremely preterm SGA infants: A population based study.
  1. Siw Helen Westby Wold (helenwold{at}broadpark.no)
  1. University of Bergen, Norway
    1. Kristian Sommerfelt (kristian.sommerfelt{at}helse-bergen.no)
    1. University of Bergen, Norway
      1. Hallvard Reigstad (hallvard.reigstad{at}helse-bergen.no)
      1. Department of Pediatrics, Haukeland University Hospital, Norway
        1. Arild Rønnestad (arild.ronnestad{at}klinmed.uio.no)
        1. Department of Pediatrics, Rikshospitalet University Hospital, Norway
          1. Sverre Medbø (sverre.medbo{at}ulleval.no)
          1. Department of Pediatrics, Ullevål University Hospital, Norway
            1. Teresa Farstad (teresa.farstad{at}ahus.no)
            1. Department of Pediatrics, Akershus University Hospital, Norway
              1. Per Ivar Kaaresen (per.ivar.kaaresen{at}unn.no)
              1. Department of Pediatrics, University Hospital of Northern Norway, Norway
                1. Ragnhild Støen (ragnhild.stoen{at}stolav.no)
                1. Department of Pediatrics, St. Olav University Hospital, Norway
                  1. Katrine Tyborg Leversen (katrine.tyborg.leversen{at}helse-bergen.no)
                  1. University of Bergen, Norway
                    1. Lorentz Irgens (lorentz.irgens{at}fih.no)
                    1. University of Bergen, Norway
                      1. Trond Markestad (trond.markestad{at}helse-bergen.no)
                      1. Department of Pediatrics, Haukeland University Hospital, Norway

                        Abstract

                        Aim: To assess if growth retarded (SGA) extremely preterm infants have excess neonatal mortality and morbidity.

                        Methods: Cohort study of all infants born alive at 22-27 weeks’ gestational age (GA) in Norway during 1999-2000. Outcomes were compared between those who were SGA, defined as a birth weight less than the fifth percentile for GA and those who had weights at or above the fifth percentile.

                        Results: Of 365 infants with GA < 28 weeks, 31 (8%) were SGA. Among infants with GA < 28 weeks, only chronic lung disease was associated with SGA status (OR 2.7, 95% CI 1.0 to 7.2). SGA infants with GA 26-27 weeks had excess neonatal mortality (OR 3.8, 95% CI 1.3 to 11), chronic lung disease and significantly higher mean number of days (age) before tolerating full enteral nutrition. SGA infants with GA 22-25 weeks had an excess risk of necrotizing enterocolitis.

                        Conclusion: Extremely preterm SGA infants had excess neonatal mortality and morbidity in terms of necrotizing enterocolitis and chronic lung disease.

                        Statistics from Altmetric.com

                        Request permissions

                        If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.