Article Text

other Versions

PDF
Validation of a neonatal pain scale without facial items
  1. Christophe Milesi (c-milesi{at}chu-montpellier.fr)
  1. Hopital Arnaud de Villeneuve, France
    1. Gilles Cambonie (g-cambonie{at}chu-montpellier.fr)
    1. Hopital Arnaud de Villeneuve, France
      1. Aurelien Jacquot (a-jacquot{at}chu-montpellier.fr)
      1. Hopital Arnaud de Villeneuve, France
        1. Eric Barbotte (e-barbotte{at}chu-montpellier.fr)
        1. Hopital Arnaud de Villeneuve, France
          1. Felicie Ferragu (f-ferragu{at}chu-montpellier.fr)
          1. Hopital Arnaud de Villeneuve, France
            1. Renaud Mesnage (r-mesnage{at}chu-montpellier.fr)
            1. Hopital Arnaud de Villeneuve, France
              1. Florence Masson (f-masson{at}chu-montpellier.fr)
              1. Hopital Arnaud de Villeneuve, France
                1. Odile Pidoux
                1. Arnaud de Villeneuve Hospital, University Hospital of Montpellier, France
                  1. Pierre Thevenot (pierre.thevenot{at}ch-perpignan.fr)
                  1. Hopital de Perpignan, France
                    1. jean-bernard mariette (jb.mariette{at}chu-nimes.fr)
                    1. Hopital Caremeau de Nimes, France
                      1. Jean-Charles Picaud (jean-charles.picaud{at}chu-lyon.fr)
                      1. Hopital de la Croix Rousse, France

                        Abstract

                        Background: Neonatal pain assessment generally requires access to facial expression. Improved neonatology practices, such as greater protection against bright lights and non-invasive mask ventilation, have made facial observation more difficult.

                        Objective: To validate a “faceless” acute neonatal pain scale (FANS), which does not depend on facial expression.

                        Methods: Prospective, multicentric study, we videotaped 24- to 40-week-old neonates during a painful procedure (heel prick). Three investigators then scored the pain using FANS and a validated scale: DAN (Douleur aiguë du Nouveau-né). FANS is based on assessment of limb movement, cry and autonomic reaction. Reliability was assessed by interrater agreement and internal consistency (Cronbach’s alpha). Validity was evaluated by agreement between scales [intraclass correlation coefficient (ICC)]. The Wilcoxon test evaluated the FANS score differences between conditions. Results are expressed as medians [25th and 75th percentiles]. Ranges are presented for outcome parameters.

                        Results: From April 2006 to September 2007, we observed 53 preterms of 32 [30-35] gestational weeks and 1500 [1000-2200] g. Cronbach’s alpha was 0.72. ICC was 0.92 [0.9-0.98] for interrater agreement and 0.88 [0.76-0.93] for agreement between scales.

                        Conclusion: FANS, which is reliable and valid, is the first scale to score pain in the preterm newborn when facial expression is not accessible.

                        Statistics from Altmetric.com

                        Request permissions

                        If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.